top of page

The Very Important Prime Minister's Club


As we near another general election season, new comparisons will undoubtedly arise about our three Prime Ministers. I've always questioned whether comparing these men does anything other than create a distorted view of history. Regardless of our individual preferences, I think that we all appreciate the political impact that Sir Lynden Pindling, Hubert Ingraham, and Perry Christie have had during their respective terms in power. I continue to be amazed and intrigued while learning about their political careers, and while it is tempting to make a 3-2-1 ladder ranking based on my political biases, I find the comparison between these 3 men and the people who elected them far more interesting. I would go as far as to say that each of our Prime Ministers individually characterize different aspects of the Bahamian spirit: our collective character that makes us special amongst all global citizens. That spirit is something I would define this in three words: courage, conviction and compassion.

Courage

I was not alive during any of Sir Lynden Pindling's 25 long years in power, which means everything I know of him comes from my schooling and very limited individual study. History has been kind to our first Prime Minister, as I know him to be a courageous and learned young lion who defeated the white Bahamian political / economic empire. Of course, this isn't lifted word for word from my social studies BJC textbooks, but one gets the sense that he was a champion at least at one point in his political career. Then came the scandals: the drugs, the backroom deals and a nation with a shamed reputation. A true fall from grace smears Sir Lynden's otherwise stellar abbreviated resume. I would say that he represented an educated generation of Bahamians who, after studying abroad, dared to believe in a future where the black majority proves themselves as better stewards of this country than the British. He will forever be remembered as the man who ushered in a new era through independence, thereby creating a nation.

Conviction

In 1992, when Hubert Ingraham rose to power, we had our second Prime Minister. I was born just before he was elected a second time, and old enough to be aware of political developments by the time he began his third non- consecutive term. For this reason, I am most familiar with Ingraham as our Prime Minister and have more detailed thoughts about what he represents. His all-business, often biggoty demeanor is a reflection of many a Bahamian's tendency to appear in-charge, almost to the point of being abrasive. At the same time, Ingraham's distinctive laughter that echoed for miles outside of the House of Assembly's walls is not unlike the laughing fits many of us are prone to after a good joke. I think Ingraham's humble beginnings also made him appear approachable. He is a living example of a common man achieving a status that his humble beginnings suggested was unattainable.

Compassion

Our third Prime Minister took office once in 2002, and again ten years later in 2012. Perry Christie's legacy is being determined right before our eyes, and the possibility of a third term under his Prime Ministership is still open. I know him predominantly for the wide array of 'propuh' vocabulary he subjects us citizens to every day. Indeed, there have been many times where I've been left scratching my head after seeing yet another lengthy ZNS interview with our nation's current chief. But for all my gripes about his method of delivery, I cannot call Christie lazy or unintelligent. I actually admire Christie's dedication to public service, genuine compassion and obvious linguistic acumen, just as I admire the many other Bahamians with these qualities. Without a doubt, he bleeds sincerity, and that's one of the reasons why I have trouble laughing at the pictures floating around online of him taking naps in public. I can tell that he, like many Bahamians, takes his job perhaps a bit too seriously.

All 3 men are true sons of the soil. The learned and courageous Pindling, the decisive and practical Ingraham, and the loquacious but spirited Christie have all done some good for our nation. We may all have our preferences on who is "simply the best" or the "right man for the job", but it is my hope that all generations of Bahamians give them each the respect they deserve, especially the two that are still with us, while they are here.

The fourth Prime Minister of the Commonwealth of the Bahamas must aggressively carve his or her own niche to avoid being labeled as the second iteration of one of their predecessors. As sure as I am that our next Prime Minister will come sooner rather thatn later, I am just assure that we will insist that whoever come next must fill their predecessor's shoes. I suppose that as the list of past Prime Ministers grows progressively longer and longer, it will become much harder for future leaders to break the mold.

But I can't wait to watch them do so anyway.

 Featured Posts 
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook B&W
bottom of page